3:30 AM

3:30 AM
and I am awaiting the hallucinogenic memories
that slip into my dreams
like we slid,
slick, hot bodies,
across the yellow vinyl of that ugly couch.

3:32 AM
and you are my gateway drug,
the little pill I pop under my tongue
while the shadow growth on your face
rubs a passionless rash
across my cheek.

3:35 AM
and I am as flat and stiff beneath you
as a carcass under the steady,
sharp beak of a vulture,
I pull away from you,
scalded by your touch.

3:48 AM
and your breathing has deepened
to the steady rhythm of slumber
and I dream of yellow vinyl couches
and the first time you slid,
slick, hot body, and shattered me like an ancient mosaic.

© Laura  A. Lord, 2016


I just finished a book, The Pilot’s Wife by Anita Shreve, and without spoiling the story for you, because it is amazing and you should read it, the main character spoke numerous times about passion leaving a relationship as the time past. It inspired this piece, along with the wordle from MindLoveMisery’sMenagerie.

Don’t forget to sign up for my mailing list and receive your free I Am Coloring Book!

Photo by Ales Krivec, Unsplash

Design by Book Genesis

9 thoughts on “3:30 AM

  1. These lines of yours moved me:

    3:32 AM
    and you are my gateway drug,
    the little pill I pop under my tongue
    while the shadow growth on your face
    rubs a passionless rash
    across my cheek.

    wow! you hit the right notes on all your passion for writing.
    I’m such a fan of your work by the way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

