Noise Machine

I have never had the desire to be background music for anyone.
I have too strong of a desire to hit the high notes.
I want to captivate,
somehow,
in stunning silence.
I want to please
without ever having to open my lips.
I want your awestruck envy
pooling as heavy smoke
running parallel my little pink tongue.
I want your nerves lit,
fireworks spilling their guts in the night.
I want, I want, I want…

I tend to want much more than background noise.

© Laura A. Lord, Noise Machine, 2017


Thank you to Mind Love Misery’s Menagerie for their inspiration.

7 thoughts on “Noise Machine

    1. I’ve missed you -hugs- Sorry I have been away for so long. It’s been almost a year since I have written anything, this was the first. I’ve been doing some pretty intensive soul searching.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

