Good Intentions

In the first few weeks after I met you,
you formed the habit of placing your hand
on the back of my neck
while I drove.

I thought it cute.

You were addictive
in your senseless charm
and I was a careless heart,
struggling to keep time
with the beat.

Decidedly, the tempo increased
and the knuckles scraped
a tap-dance slide
across concave cheekbones,
stark and thinned
by my hungering smile.

I thought to terminate the dance.

I thought to notify you of my intentions.

I thought to step back from passions raised
and push my narrow chin in the air,
to settle my shoulders back
and stiff as rigor mortis
my words would fall
and in their strength
would not break as they hit the ground.

Instead, you showed me the weakness of my spine
and your hand on my neck
tightened its grip
and my words fell hollow in the squeeze.

I watched them shatter,
as only sparkling good intentions can do.

© Laura A. Lord, 2016


Sometimes thoughts drift to darker times. Regardless, I am thankful to MindLoveMisery’sMenagerie for their wordle prompt this week.

Please remember to sign up for my mailing list. There is a limited time giveaway for a coloring book when you do! Sign up here.

Photography by Jairo Alzate, Unsplash

 

19 thoughts on “Good Intentions

  1. Wow. Beautiful poetry is usually created from a place of hurt and pain (in my own life, anyway), so in that respect I can relate to the flow of this peice. Not only relate, but I can appreciate the principle too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We all have parts hiding in the dark. It is so that we to can light the important parts and let them shine brighter so we can cope and keep balance on the spanned life.

    I think there is a poem in this hahaha…
    I love your work Lady Laura

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Merci. J’utilise Google traduction, alors excuses si elle commet des erreurs. Je suis tellement heureux de savoir que mon travail a vous a touché. J’espère vous revenir et visiter souvent.

      Like

      1. I know exactly what you mean, I always have trouble writing about matters like this or reading and calling it beautiful. But it does get me thinking:”Is it not already time to accept my woes and scars and indeed, take them in as beauty, as survival? Instead of a stigma, a forever mark, an eternal ugliness.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This is very beautiful. I felt similar to what you have shared in this poem very recently. I was stubborn and willful about not wanting to fall in love again. I tried to reject it, but the love was too strong, so I eventually submitted to it, like a tranquilizer. I am new to this blog site. I have been writing for 14 years. I have most of my poetry on a site called allpoetry. If you have time maybe you could try to guide me as to how to establish a following on my site as I add my writings. Thank you. You have a wonderful vocabulary, that’s refreshing to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’m familiar with allpoetry, though I enjoy blogging here better. I wish there was some sort of magic follower wand, but in truth, just keep writing and submitting your work…readers will come as you go along.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

